Well water testing by state: free programs, certified labs and the rules
Find testing near you: your state's certified labs and free programs, what the state recommends testing, and when the law requires a test — checked against official sources in all 50 states.
Last updated · Sources: state statutes, regulations and agency pages · Not legal advice
The short answer
19 states run a standing free well-testing program, but only 5 open one to every private-well owner in the state — Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, New Mexico and South Carolina — and 4 of those cover one contaminant, screen only or depend on funding. The other 14 are limited by area, income or eligibility. 4 states — Maryland, New Jersey, Oregon and Rhode Island — require a test when a home with a well is sold. Everywhere, your state’s certified lab list is the place to start.
Free well water testing by state
Green states run a free testing program that any private-well owner in the state can use; pale green ones have a free program limited to some areas, incomes or households; grey ones have no standing free state program (several have a low-cost one). Hover or tap a state for its programs and their limits.
Tap a legend entry to show only those states. Small eastern states also have a labelled box on the right. Programs change and funding ends — the state card links each program's own page.
Finding well water testing near you
For a well water test near you, there are three places to look, in this order. The card for your state above links each one to the official page.
- Your state’s certified lab list. 48 states publish one. Certification matters for the health results — bacteria, nitrate, arsenic, lead — where the point is to detect small amounts reliably. Arkansas and North Dakota have no official state list, and Wyoming’s link is the EPA’s regional list because the state runs no certification program of its own.
- A free program, if you qualify. We list a program as free only when its own page says it costs nothing, and we show its limit next to it — region, income, invitation, funding. Anything with a price, or marked paid, goes under “low-cost and other options” instead.
- Your county health department. Many run their own testing or know who does; county programs weren’t surveyed state by state here, so a phone call can turn up an option this page doesn’t list.
Before you order, check which contaminants turned up in your county’s wells so the test covers them, and see what a lab panel costs.
What the 50 states offer
- 19 states have a standing free program; 5 are open statewide. The statewide ones: Colorado (PFAS only; while supplies last), Delaware, Idaho (while funding lasts; no bacteria test), New Mexico (screening only — not a certified-lab test) and South Carolina (PFAS only; apply for an assessment). Limited to some areas, incomes or households: Alabama, California, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Washington and Wisconsin.
- 8 states without a free program list a paid or low-cost option. Arkansas ($17 per sample), Florida (Discretionary — not available on request), Indiana ($10–$20 per test, plus shipping), Mississippi ($10 + processing fee), Missouri ($10 handling fee), Montana (Paid — price depends on the package), Texas ($15 per sample, at scheduled screenings) and Virginia ($70 per kit, at scheduled clinics).
- 4 states require a test at sale by state law: Maryland, New Jersey, Oregon and Rhode Island. Westchester County, New York requires one by county law; some Massachusetts towns do too; New Hampshire sellers must disclose the date of the last test, and Connecticut owners must point buyers to the state’s testing material.
- 13 states require a new well to be tested before or soon after it is used: Connecticut, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Virginia and Wisconsin. Several more leave it to counties — in Florida, twelve county health departments require it.
- 3 states require landlords to test: Maine, Maryland and New Jersey. California requires it inside the area of a free state-funded program, and Oregon’s landlord testing law is enacted but not yet in force — it starts January 1, 2027.
- 32 states have no state requirement to test a household well at sale, after construction or for a rental — though some of their counties or towns do, and lenders often ask for a test at purchase anyway.
Every state at a glance
Select a state name to open its card above with the program details, recommended tests and the rule text behind each line.
| State | Free testing | Certified labs | Test required by law |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | LimitedEvent-based only — no 2025–26 event found | State list | None found |
| Alaska | NoNo standing free state program found | State list | None found |
| Arizona | NoNo standing free state program found | State list | None found |
| Arkansas | NoNo free program. $17 per sample | No official list | None found |
| California | LimitedRegional only — Central Coast counties; Regional only — nine listed counties; Regional only — inside each program's boundary | State list |
|
| Colorado | Yes, statewideStatewide (PFAS only; while supplies last); Jefferson County only; while supplies last | State list | None found |
| Connecticut | NoNo standing free state program found | State list |
|
| Delaware | Yes, statewideStatewide | State list | None found |
| Florida | NoNo free program. Discretionary — not available on request | State list |
|
| Georgia | NoNo standing free state program found | State list | None found |
| Hawaii | NoNo standing free state program found | State list | None found |
| Idaho | Yes, statewideStatewide (While funding lasts; no bacteria test) | State list | None found |
| Illinois | NoNo standing free state program found | State list | None found |
| Indiana | NoNo free program. $10–$20 per test, plus shipping | State list | None found |
| Iowa | LimitedThrough your county health department — participation not verified county by county | State list |
|
| Kansas | NoNo standing free state program found | State list | None found |
| Kentucky | NoNo standing free state program found | County copy |
|
| Louisiana | NoNo standing free state program found | State list | None found |
| Maine | LimitedLow-income households only | State list |
|
| Maryland | NoNo standing free state program found | State list |
|
| Massachusetts | NoNo standing free state program found | State list |
|
| Michigan | NoNo standing free state program found | State list |
|
| Minnesota | LimitedNitrate only, where a local machine or clinic exists | State list |
|
| Mississippi | NoNo free program. $10 + processing fee | State list | None found |
| Missouri | NoNo free program. $10 handling fee | State list |
|
| Montana | NoNo free program. Paid — price depends on the package | State list | None found |
| Nebraska | LimitedRegional only — Gosper, Phelps and Kearney counties; Regional only — once every five years per well; Regional one-week event — the 2026 week has passed; no repeat announced | State list | None found |
| Nevada | LimitedSouthern Nevada only | State list | None found |
| New Hampshire | NoNo standing free state program found | State list |
|
| New Jersey | LimitedEligible South Jersey towns only; depends on funding; Invitation only | State list |
|
| New Mexico | Yes, statewideAt scheduled water fairs only; Statewide (Screening only — not a certified-lab test) | State list | None found |
| New York | LimitedSix counties only (pilot; limited funds) | State list |
|
| North Carolina | NoNo standing free state program found | State list |
|
| North Dakota | NoNo standing free state program found | No official list | None found |
| Ohio | NoNo standing free state program found | State list |
|
| Oklahoma | NoNo standing free state program found | State list | None found |
| Oregon | LimitedRegional only — Lower Umatilla Basin | State list |
|
| Pennsylvania | NoNo standing free state program found | State list |
|
| Rhode Island | LimitedTargeted areas only — not open enrolment | State list |
|
| South Carolina | Yes, statewideAge 65+ or public assistance only; New permitted wells only — first coliform test; Statewide (PFAS only; apply for an assessment) | State list | None found |
| South Dakota | NoNo standing free state program found | State list |
|
| Tennessee | LimitedFor eligible wells — criteria not published | State list | None found |
| Texas | NoNo free program. $15 per sample, at scheduled screenings | State list | None found |
| Utah | NoNo standing free state program found | State list | None found |
| Vermont | NoNo standing free state program found | State list |
|
| Virginia | NoNo free program. $70 per kit, at scheduled clinics | State list |
|
| Washington | LimitedRegional only — Lower Yakima Valley / Western Benton County | State list |
|
| West Virginia | NoNo standing free state program found | State list | None found |
| Wisconsin | LimitedEligible households only | State list |
|
| Wyoming | NoNo standing free state program found | EPA list | None found |
Colours: free program open statewide (green), free program, limited (area, income or eligibility) (amber), none (plain).
When the law requires a well test
Private wells aren’t covered by the federal drinking-water rules that apply to public systems, so any duty to test comes from state or local law. These are the requirements the verification found, in the rules’ own terms. County and town rules were not surveyed everywhere, so a county listed here is an example, not the full list.
At sale
| State | Applies | Rule, as verified |
|---|---|---|
| Maryland | State law | Sale (since October 1, 2024): the contract must require the buyer to have the well tested and settlement waits for results; the buyer may waive in writing (Real Property §10-713) |
| Massachusetts | Some localities | Sale: some towns require a test at property transfer |
| New Hampshire | Some localities | Sale: mortgage lenders and a handful of towns require a test at purchase |
| New Jersey | State law | Sale: the seller (or buyer) tests the untreated water for up to 43 parameters, and both review the results before closing (Private Well Testing Act) |
| New York | County rule | Westchester County law: at the sale of any property with a well |
| Oregon | State law | Sale: on accepting an offer, the seller has the well tested for arsenic, nitrate and coliform bacteria and sends results to OHA and the buyer (ORS 448.271) |
| Rhode Island | State law | Before the sale or transfer of the property (foreclosures and some retitlings excluded) |
| Washington | Some localities | Sale: in most counties the health or planning department, or the lender, may require results (per Ecology; county rules not verified) |
New wells
| State | Applies | Rule, as verified |
|---|---|---|
| California | Some localities | New wells: some county well ordinances require a test (varies by county) |
| Connecticut | State law | New wells (since Oct 1, 2022): lab test including arsenic and uranium; results to the local health authority; no household use until they meet the limits (C.G.S. 19a-37(c)(2)) |
| Florida | County rule | New or repaired wells, under county health department rules in Brevard, Broward, Citrus, Duval, Flagler, Highlands, Hillsborough, Osceola, Palm Beach, Pinellas, Sarasota and Volusia counties |
| Iowa | State law | New, reconstructed or rehabilitated wells: coliform bacteria and nitrate, sampled 10–30 days after the well goes into service (567 IAC 49.25) |
| Kentucky | State law | New wells: E. coli test within 30 days of completion, at a certified lab (401 KAR 6:310) |
| Maryland | State law | New wells: a Certificate of Potability before the well is put into service (COMAR 26.04.04.30) |
| Massachusetts | Some localities | New wells: local boards of health require a water-quality test before first use |
| Michigan | State law | New, repaired or reconditioned systems: a coliform-free sample after disinfection, before use (R 325.1661(2)) |
| Minnesota | State law | New wells: no drinking use until a coliform-free sample and nitrate and arsenic results are in (Minn. R. 4725.5650) |
| Missouri | State law, defined areas | New upper-aquifer wells in Special Area 11 only: lead and cadmium (and TCE near TCE areas) before certification (10 CSR 23-3.090) |
| New York | County rule | Westchester County law: new wells before first use |
| North Carolina | State law | New wells: the county health department tests (or has a certified lab test) within 30 days of the certificate of completion, for metals, nitrate, pH and bacteria (G.S. 87-97(h)) |
| Ohio | State law | New or altered wells: the local board of health samples for nitrate, E. coli and coliform after completion (OAC 3701-28-03(V)) |
| Pennsylvania | County rule | Chester County: a well permit and a lab analysis before a new well may be used (county Chapter 500) |
| Rhode Island | State law | When a new well is installed as a new source for an existing building |
| South Dakota | State law | New domestic wells: nitrate, coliform, sodium, conductivity and sulfate, with results to DANR within 30 days of the completion report (ARSD 74:02:04:63) |
| Vermont | State law | New or deepened wells: the landowner tests before using the water — bacteria, arsenic, uranium, lead and more |
| Virginia | State law | New wells: a negative coliform test at an accredited lab before the well is approved (12VAC5-630-431) |
| Wisconsin | State law | New or reconstructed wells: the driller samples for coliform and nitrate within 30 days, before use (NR 812.46) |
Rentals
| State | Applies | Rule, as verified |
|---|---|---|
| California | State law, defined areas | Rentals inside the area of a free state-funded testing program: the owner must take part, share results with tenants within 10 days, and pass no charge on (H&SC 116688) |
| Maine | State law | Rentals: landlords test each well serving tenants for arsenic every 5 years and share results within 10 days (22 MRSA §2660-Y) |
| Maryland | State law | Rentals: owners provide testing every 3 years and disclose results to tenants (Environment §9-4A-04) |
| New Jersey | State law | Rentals: landlords test once every five years and give each tenant a copy |
| New York | County rule | Westchester County law: leased property, then at least every five years |
| Oregon | Upcoming. State law, defined areas | Rentals, from January 1, 2027: landlords of units on an exempt well inside a groundwater quality management area test at least yearly for arsenic, coliform, lead and nitrate; first tests due before June 1, 2027 (ORS 90.321) |
Before occupancy
| State | Applies | Rule, as verified |
|---|---|---|
| Rhode Island | State law | Before a certificate of occupancy is granted, for a new or previously occupied building (216-RICR-50-05-2 §2.12) |
Disclosure, not a test
| State | Applies | Rule, as verified |
|---|---|---|
| Connecticut | State law | Sale or rental: no test required, but the owner must tell the buyer or tenant that state well-testing material is available (19a-37(d)) |
| New Hampshire | State law | Sale of a 1–4 family home: the seller discloses water-supply information, including the date of the last test — a disclosure, not a test (RSA 477:4-d) |
Other cases
| State | Applies | Rule, as verified |
|---|---|---|
| Illinois | State law | Wells drilled under a location variance: the contractor sends two samples to the IDPH lab (77 IAC 920.30(c)(4)) |
| Kansas | State law | New or reconstructed wells: KDHE may request a chemical sample within 30 days of receiving the well record (K.A.R. 28-30-4(d)) |
| West Virginia | State law | Wells with a setback variance: the state takes two coliform/E. coli samples, at 30 and 60 days (64CSR46 §13.3.a) |
How often to test a private well
The CDC recommends testing a private well at least once a year for total coliform bacteria, nitrates, total dissolved solids and pH. Many states say more. New Jersey, for example, recommends total coliform, nitrates and pH at least every year; PFAS, lead, VOCs, SOCs, iron and manganese at least every five years; and arsenic, mercury, gross alpha and uranium at least once. Your state’s card shows what its agency recommends, with the source text.
Test sooner after flooding, after work on the well or pump, or when the water changes in taste, smell or colour. Once the report arrives, the water test interpreter reads it line by line against the EPA limits, and how to test well water covers taking a sample the lab can trust.
Methodology and limits
Official sources only. Every value comes from a state statute, a state regulation or a state agency’s own page — plus named county programs, and county-hosted copies where the state’s own link is broken. Each value is backed by verbatim quotes from its source, shown under “View the rule text” in the state card.
Independently verified. After the research pass, a second pass re-fetched every cited source, matched each quote against the live text and corrected what didn’t hold up, on September 26, 2026. The corrections changed real answers: a free program that turned out to cost money moved to low-cost, a program whose official page never says “free” now reads “cost not stated”, a radon kit offer that was a time-limited study was removed, and Oregon’s landlord testing law is labelled upcoming because it isn’t in force until 2027.
Free versus low-cost. A program is free only if its cost reads as free; anything with a price, “paid” or “not free” is listed as low-cost, and a program with no stated cost is listed as “cost not stated”. “Open statewide” means any private-well owner in the state can apply, even when supplies or funding are limited or the test covers one contaminant.
Limits. County programs were not surveyed exhaustively, so your county may offer testing this page doesn’t list. Programs change and funding ends — check the program’s own page before you rely on it. Where the source is dated (a fee, a program year, a lab list), the card shows the date. This is a research summary, not legal advice: the agency that runs the program or enforces the rule has the final word.
Download or cite the data
The full table — every state’s programs with their limits, lab list, recommendations, legal triggers and source URLs — is free to download and reuse under CC BY 4.0: credit Well Water Fixes with a link to this page. The drilling rules — permits, drillers and septic setbacks — are on well drilling permits by state.
Cite this data
Well Water Fixes (2026). Private well water testing by state: free programs, certified labs and legal requirements, verified against official sources September 26, 2026. https://www.wellwaterfixes.com/well-water-testing-by-state
Frequently asked questions
- Where can I get my well water tested for free?
- In 5 states a free program is open to any private-well owner: Colorado (PFAS only; while supplies last), Delaware, Idaho (while funding lasts; no bacteria test), New Mexico (screening only — not a certified-lab test) and South Carolina (PFAS only; apply for an assessment). In 14 more — Alabama, California, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Washington and Wisconsin — a free program exists for some areas, incomes or households. Pick your state above to see who qualifies. Elsewhere, ask your county health department, or use a certified lab (see what a test costs).
- Do I have to test my well when selling a house?
- Only in 4 states by state law: Maryland, New Jersey, Oregon and Rhode Island. Maryland's contract must require the buyer to have the well tested (the buyer can waive it in writing), New Jersey's seller or buyer tests before closing, Oregon's seller tests after accepting an offer, and Rhode Island requires a test before the sale or transfer. Westchester County, New York requires it by county law and some Massachusetts towns do too. Elsewhere it isn't required by the state, but lenders often ask for a test.
- How often should I test my well?
- The CDC recommends at least once a year for total coliform bacteria, nitrates, total dissolved solids and pH. Many states recommend more — New Jersey, for instance, adds PFAS, lead, VOCs, iron and manganese at least every five years, and arsenic, mercury, gross alpha and uranium at least once. Your state's card shows its own recommendation.
- How do I find a certified water testing lab near me?
- Use your state's certified lab list — 48 states publish one, and the state card links it. Arkansas and North Dakota have no official list, so ask the local health department there. Wyoming has no state certification program; its link is the EPA Region 8 list.
- Does a new well have to be tested?
- In 13 states, yes, by state rule: Connecticut, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Virginia and Wisconsin. What's tested and who takes the sample differ — some require only a coliform test, others a long list including arsenic and uranium. In several other states counties set the requirement.